Smoke-free activities winners awarded

BAGUIO CITY (29 January 2021) – The city’s Sangguniang Kabataan employed their skills and talents in music video, short film making, poster design and essay writing, which gained them sizable cash awards during last Monday’s city hall flag raising ceremony.

 All competition pieces are focused on having a Smoke-Free Baguio, as anti-smoking advocates; Councilor Joel Alangsab and Anti-Smoke Task Force (ASTF) vice chair and Health Services Office (HSO) head Dr. Rowena Galpo educated attendees and employees on the harmful effects of smoking.

City Councilor Alangsab as chair on health, environment and sanitation committee in his message during the program emphasized on the importance of activities to veer the youth away from vices including smoking. He noted in a survey-report that 12.3% of cigarette smokers are at least 13 to 15 years of age. This situation could be avoided if our youth’s attention is turned to developing skills, talents, culture and appreciation of the arts, thus this program, Alangsab said.

Tobacco and tobacco companies are exerting efforts in targeting the youth for their market, thus it is our task and responsibility to educate the youth as to the dangers of smoking and vaping as it ruins their health, thus their future, Alangsab further said.

For the music video making contest, ABCR Sangguniang Kabataan won first prize with a P10,000 cash award; Antonio Magangat, Jr and Team Victoria barangay won second place bringing home P7,000 cash; and Team South Sanitary Camp won P4,000 as third place.

For the short film category, there were seven entries with Berson James Sepulchre from Kias barangay winning first prize and P10,000 cash; Joule Cheval Passi from Dontogan, second prize with P7,000 cash award; and Lance Jorell Saldo of Trancoville barangay bringing home P4,000.

Ivy Villamor of Asin road topped twenty entries in the essay writing contest; Mary Grace Lagasi of Loakan proper brgy is second; and Angela Tolingan of Bakakeng Norte won third place; with P5,000; P3,000 and P1,000 cash awards, respectively.

For the poster-making contest, Daniel Chuyat of Leonila Hill won first place among 12 entries, Julian Gabriel Trinidad of Pinget barangay is 2nd place; and Angela Tolingan of Bakakeng placed third; with P5,000, P3,000 and P1,000 cash award.

The judges for the contests are Sangguniang Kabataan representative Councilor Levy Lloyd Orcales, ASTF officer Dr. Donabel Tubera-Panes, Public Order and Safety Division (POSD)Officer Daryl Kim Longid, Mr. Raymund Abluyon and Deborah Molitas from Councilor Alangsab’s office, and Ms. Cecille Agpawa of the ASTF.

The awards were handed out by Congressman Marquez Go, City Administrator Bonifacio dela Pena, city councilors, the Anti-smoke Task Force (ASTF) members and ASTF vice chair and City Health Services Office head Dr. Rowena Galpo.-  Julie G. Fianza