Action plan for City’s devolution transition plan, bared

11 August 2021 – City Planning and Development Office (CPDO) chief  Arch. Donna Tabangin laid out the city’s Devolution Transition Plan (DTP) action plan in Tuesday’s regular management committee meeting led by Mayor Benjamin Magalong at Baguio Convention Center.

The DTP is in line with the Mandanas Ruling that increases the share of national government tax revenue transferred to local government units (LGUs) starting next year.

Tabangin said action plan timeline is DTP formulation from August 13 to November 10; formulation of barangay DTP, August 16 to October 14; conduct of city DTP workshops, August 13; barangay DTP workshops, August 16; barangay DTP submission, October 14; and city DTP submission is on November 10.

The Mayor has issued executive order no. 93, series of 2021, creating an LGU Devolution Transition Committee with himself as chairperson and selected local officials and representatives of private-sector organizations as members, she said.

It also establishes a Barangay Devolution Transition Committee with the punong barangay as chairperson whose members are the barangay secretary and treasurer, a regular member of the local sanggunian, and at least two representatives from civil society organizations.

Components of LGU DTPs are inventory or devolved functions, services and facilities; phasing of assumption of functions, services and facilities; and capacity development agenda and requirements, Tabangin said.

Also included are organizational structure and staffing pattern; local revenue forecast and resource mobilization strategy; performance targets for devolved functions and services, she added.-Gaby B. Keith