2 Baguio-based dance groups recognized

2 Baguio-based dance groups recognized

City officials recently congratulated and commended the Archers Dance Troupe and the Koolitz dance crew, both from the city, for bagging a gold and silver medals, respectively in the recently concluded 2023 Philippine Hiphop Dance Championship – junior division held at the manila Metropolitan theater last May 27-28, 2023,

In a resolution, local legislators stated that the outstanding performances of the 2 Baguio-based dance groups, together with the guidance of their coaches and trainers and the unwavering support of their families, have portrayed unquestionable discipline and dance excellence that serves as inspiration for the whole of the city and are worthy of emulation, especially among the youth.

The Philippine Hiphop Dance Championship is recognized by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC), the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) and the National commission on Culture and the Arts (NCCA) as a creative and cultural expression among the youth through dance performances.

Earlier, the 2023 edition of the Philippine Hiphop Dance Championship was actively participated by 85 dance groups from the different parts of the country with the aim of representing the Philippines in the upcoming International Hiphop Competition in Arizona, United States of America on July 30 – August 6, 2023.

Baguio City was represented by Archers Dance Troupe and Koolitz dance crew, both from the Baguio Central School composed of elementary students as guided by Baguio-based coaches and trainers as The Archers dance troop bagged the gold medal while the Koolitz dance crew bagged the silver medal for the 2023 edition of the Philippine hip hop Dance championship giving them the opportunity to represent the city and the country in Arizona, USA.

The Archers Dance Troupe is composed of Samantha Joy M. Corpuz, Zabarra Khlaire B.  Salazar, Zoe Alexie Monique B. Buyao, Zurie Arabella R. Pagteilan, Xhianti Xia S. Sino Cruz, Dominque Alaine A. Perez, Andrew Kreione Cruz and Kate Dennishareign while the Koolitz dance crew is composed of Jefferson E. Andres, Jalieon M. Tan, Caliya Snow C. Adangla, Freichie Khloe Castillo, Princess Jamil P. Unden, Jhann Rhaynn R. Garcia and Leira Mae V. Racar.

The coaches of the said groups are Andrew Tom T. Cruz and Louie Vilches Calimlim while the advisers are Conrado Mapili, Jr., and Frank Lloyd de Guzman, and serving as overall chairman is Wreigh Jann C. Tangayo. – Dexter A. See