17 Baguio Punong Barangays are unopposed

17 Baguio Punong Barangays are unopposed

Seventeen out of the city’s one hundred twenty-eight punong barangays unopposed for the upcoming October 30, 2023 barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) elections.

Based on the list from the Commission on Elections (Comelec), the unopposed punong barangays are Jefferson M Cheng of Abanao-Zanduete-Chugum-Kayang-Otek (AZKO), Randy T. Gati of Ambiong, Evelyn Balisong of Bakakeng Norte/Sur, Melvin A. Cortes of Bayan Park Village, Jeanette L. Floresca of Camdas, Ariel del Monte of DPS Compound, Orlando B. Basongit of Gabriela Silang, Murphy W. Maspil of Holyghost Proper,  Ernesto Laguardia of Imelda Marcos, Nerissa Q. Bayan of Kayang Extension, Priscilla C. Dacanay of Upper Magsaysay, Bonifacio A. Bustos of Padre Burgos, Dinah C. Campos of Upper Quezon Hill, Van Oliver Dicang of Lower Quirino Hill, Joey P. David of Upper Rock Quarry, Nicanor N. Nialla of San Antonio village and Ernesto P. Amon of San Roque village.

Further, there were also some 2,794 aspirants that filed their certificates of candidacy for the various elected positions in the upcoming barangay and SK polls scheduled on October 30, 2023.

Of the said number of aspirants, there were some 2,173 individuals who filed their COCs for the position of 128 punong barangays and 1028 available positions for barangay kagawads while some 621 filed their COCs for the same number of Sk chairpersons and kagawads.

Moreover, there are some 320 aspirants for punong barangays where 231 are males and 89 are females while there are some 1,853 aspirants for barangay kagawads where 1,032 males and 821 are females.

For the aspirants for the different elected SK posts, there are some 213 individuals aspiring for SK chairman where 103 are males and 110 are females while 408 individuals are seeking to be elected as Sk kagawads.

Comelec officials reminded the aspirants for the various elected positions in the upcoming barangay and SK polls not to be involved in premature campaigning until the start of the campaign period on October 19-28, 2023 to prevent them from facing unnecessary problems that could lead to their possible disqualification from being elected into office.

The poll body is now preparing for the conduct of the necessary trainings of the members of the board of election inspectors in the precinct level to ensure their readiness during the conduct of the barangay and SK elections to avoid the occurrence of any untoward incidents that may compromise the integrity and credibility of the election results.

The conduct of the October 30, 2023 barangay and SK elections will be done manually in preparation for the expected transition to automated barangay and SK elections as envisioned by the poll body in 2025 and every election that may be conducted thereafter that will guarantee the secure and free conduct of the elections so that those who have been elected by the voters will be the opens that will hold office. Earlier, the Comelec declared August 28 to November 29, 2023 as election period where various activities related to the transfer of personnel among others are prohibited to guarantee the secure and free conduct of the political exercise. – Dexter A. See