UP Baguio transitions into new leadership

UP Baguio transitions into new leadership

The University of the Philippines Baguio has transitioned into new leadership with the appointment of Dr. Corazon L. Abansi as chancellor.

The change of command of leadership was ushered by a ceremonial turn-over from Chancellor Raymundo D. Rovillos to Dr. Abansi, 14 April 2021. In the ceremony held at the UP Baguio Oblation grounds, Chancellor Abansi accepted the mace of UP Baguio on the first day of her official assumption of duty as chancellor. She will serve as the chief executive of the UP Baguio until 13 April 2024.

Dr. Abansi’s appointment was approved by the Board of Regents of the University of the Philippines in its 1359th Meeting held 25 March 2021, following the search process that commenced in January 2021 in which she and Atty. Ma. Georgina A. Alvarez were nominated for the chancellorship. Alvarez, a UP Baguio Master of Management alumna, has earlier expressed her gratitude in a message where she also wished Abansi success in her stewardship of UP Baguio.

Abansi is the third chancellor of the UP Baguio, immediately succeeding Dr. Rovillos whose term ended on 13 April 2021. Rovillos served three consecutive terms as chancellor of UP Baguio, 2012-2021.

A Professor of Economics, Dr. Abansi is immediate past Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs of UP Baguio. She has a B.S. in Agricultural Economics, major in Finance (1980), an M.S. in Agricultural Economics, major in Marketing (1989), and a Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics, major in Natural Resource Economics (1997) all from UP Los Baños, and an M.A. in Economics, major in Environmental Economics (1994) from UP Diliman.

In her summary of significant achievements and qualifications presented to the public as a nominee for the chancellorship, Abansi expresses that she sees herself “as a dynamic leader with significant managerial experience in higher education, a passionate teacher with sustained scholarship in multi-disciplinary research and a devoted servant of the community.” This honing of her skills in coordination, negotiation and supervision come from over a decade of serving in leadership positions in mission-critical offices in UP Baguio including as the University’s Director of Students Affairs (AY 2012-2015), as the director of UP Baguio’s Institute of Management (AY 2011-2012), and as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs (2015-2021). Prior to joining UP Baguio, Abansi was with the De La Salle University Lipa as Vice-Chancellor for Academics and Research.

A consummate scholar with multiple International Publication awards and consistent awardee of the One-UP Professorial Chair for two consecutive terms (2015-2017; 2018-2021), Abansi has also been conferred the title of University Scientist I (2018-2020). Her research and advocacy interests include the protection of the environment and improvement of the quality of education. Contributing to her body of work are publications in the last ten years spawned by multidisciplinary and collaborative research projects with her colleagues from other disciplines and other universities. All these constituting her extensive experience in institutional management and academic leadership would serve as her wellspring of knowledge in her continuing journey with the University, along with her vision guided by the metaphor of the Ibaloy word “sebang” (pathway) connoting a path to construct a culturally rooted academic institution. Following through her vision, Abansi in her message during the turn-over ceremony emphasized that her administration “will rely heavily on the collective wisdom of the UP Baguio community in taking pathways that will provide agile response to the needs of our beloved University especially in this difficult time.”

In the turnover ceremony, Chancellor Abansi also announced the new members of the Executive Staff, namely Dr. Rosemary M. Gutierrez and Dr. Santos Jose O. Dacanay III. Gutierrez will serve as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs while Dacanay will serve as Vice Chancellor for Administration, replacing Professor Jessica K. Cariño whose retirement coincided with the end of her appointment as Vice Chancellor on 13 April 2021. Rovillos and Cariño were also recognized in the ceremony for their invaluable service to the University.Gutierrez and Dacanay will join the rest of the incumbent members of the Executive Staff, namely: College of Arts and Communication Dean Dr. Jimmy Fong, College of Science Dean Dr. Dymphna Javier, College of Social Sciences Dean Prof. Arellano Colongon Jr., University Registrar Prof. Jocelyn Rafanan, Director of Student Affairs Dr. Charita Delos Reyes, Director of the Cordillera Studies Center Dr. Ruth Tindaan, and Director of Public Affairs Prof. Junley Lazaga.

This transition of UP Baguio coincides with the 60th anniversary of the UP in Baguio since its re-establishment in 1961, after World War II. The short and meaningful program was attended by members of the Executive Staff, heads of administrative offices, and University employees present on campus.

(J.L. Lazaga/UP Baguio Public Affairs)