Baguio travel restrictions reiterated

BAGUIO CITY – (June 25) – Travel protocols in Baguio were reiterated during last week’s management committee meeting by Executive Assistant to Mayor Benjamin Magalong, Atty. Althea Alberto.

Inbound returning Baguio residents or essential travelers need to have negative results of antigen or saliva or RT-PCR swab test, and should register with; while tourists or travelers for leisure, register with and would need to be swabbed, Alberto said. Identification documents such as valid government ID or barangay certification should also be presented.  

Public officials with official travel orders should present identification documents and register with while those with non-emergency medical appointments need to present approved medical transactions and hdf registration. Said travelers are swabbed at their destination medical facility.
Emergency medical cases, on the other hand, travel through the borders unhampered but are swabbed as a requirement of their destination hospital/medical facility. Drop and go drivers need to register with and present valid government IDs.

Overseas Foreign Workers (OFWs) need to present a valid passport, medical certificate, OWWA or POEA documents, or seaman’s book, registration to HDF, and certificates that they have been swabbed and completed at least 10 days at a quarantine facility.    
Antigen tests are conducted for travelers at the Baguio Convention Center triage; saliva test at Melvin Jones, Burnham during Tuesdays only with advance registration online; and RT-PCR swab tests are done at the Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center (BGHMC). The tests are paid for by travelers or tourists.

For inbound travelers via air travel, mandatory facility-based quarantine is required and is tested with RT-PCR on the 7th day. With a negative result after at least 2 to 3 days, the traveler is issued a certificate from the Bureau of Quarantine (BOQ) and may complete the 14-day quarantine at home.

While on a facility-based quarantine, strict monitoring is conducted while testing and quarantine protocols is implemented for all travelers, Alberto added.

Travel restrictions for travelers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, UAE, and Oman stay up to June 30, Alberto further said.

Revisions or addition to the restrictions through Inter-agency task force (IATF) resolutions may be done as deemed proper by the authorities, anytime or by the end of June.
Travelers are enjoined to comply with health and travel protocols in the city and all other areas, so as to control the spread of Covid-19. – juliegfianza